In there a way of not getting redundant inputs for each task run on my workflow

Hi

Sorry if this is a dumb question. I am a newbie when it comes to cromwell and wdl

I have a workflow that seems to be working ok

However for many of the tasks some files are reused (such as the genome reference file)

Looking at the cromwell execution it seems it copies these files as inputs for EVERY task that requires them.
This is evey worse when a task is run with scatter where each shard gets its own input folder containing the very same files

This balloons the disk usage. Is there a way to configure cromwell to not cause this amount of redundancy?

Many thanks

Duarte

Answers

• EADGEADG KielMember ✭✭✭

Hi @Pepetideo ,

normally cromwell doesnt copy all the files, it tries to create soft/hardlinks for each file which is needed as an input. Only if soft/hardlink creation fails cromwell starts copying the files. If this happen you get a warning in your log file.

Greetings EADG

• PepetideoPepetideo Member ✭✭

Many thanks... I did get a few warnings for some files

like this one:
    [2018-11-01 23:35:19,87] [warn] Localization via hard link has failed: ~/gatk_germline_test/cromwell-executions/my_workflow/f9e21a61-be63-4b45-ba11-41250shard-8/inputs/-1145978593/Mills_and_1000G_gold_standard.indels.vcf.gz.tbi -> /nfs/rodney/department/compbio/bcbio/genomes/Hsapiens/hg38/variation/Mills_and_1000G_gold_standard.indels.vcf.gz.tbi: Invalid cro

but I check those and they files on the inputs of those tasks and they are indeed softlinks.

However

I get no such error message for by genome reference files and my base recalibration task (un in parallel using scatter:

# Perform Base Quality Score Recalibration (BQSR) on the sorted BAM in parallel
    scatter (subgroup in CreateSequenceGroupingTSV.sequence_grouping) {
    # Generate the recalibration model by interval
    call BaseRecalibrator {
    input:
    input_bam = SortAndFixTags.output_bam,