newbie questions

Hi

I'm just getting started with WDL and I have some questions:

• What is the preferred input type for directories? Are they String or File types?
    is it possible to "import" tasks from another workflow, or some general 'tasks' file, so the same task can be used in multiple workflows?

• Does WDL support unix pipes? I know it's possible to use the pipe "|" inside a task, but is there any support for pipes between tasks.

• What is the preferred approach for commands that are normally piped?
    is it better to do
command{
  cmd1 | cmd2 | cmd3
}

or to separate all commands into different tasks and let them write to stdout, using that as input for the next task?

• when using the docker runtime, how can we specify volumes to be mounted? This is the case for pretty much every tool that requires some kind of reference data. For example, when using a biocontainers image for bowtie2 you'd need to mount a directory with reference data for the mapping, next to a directory with the input data.

Thanks a lot.
M

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• RuchiRuchi Member, Broadie, Moderator, Dev admin

Hello,

What is the preferred input type for directories? Are they String or File types?
    is it possible to "import" tasks from another workflow, or some general 'tasks' file, so the same task can be used in multiple workflows?

There isn't proper directory support yet but one solution that should work is to zip the contents of a directory into a file. Then, you can declare a File type as the task input, and unzip the file in the command block to access all the files in that directory.

Does WDL support unix pipes? I know it's possible to use the pipe "|" inside a task, but is there any support for pipes between tasks.

I may have misunderstood your question, but one can connect tasks together by specifying the output of one task as the input of another. Does that help?

What is the preferred approach for commands that are normally piped?