Attention:
The front line support team will be unavailable to answer questions until May 27th 2019 as we are celebrating Memorial Day. We will be back soon after. Thank you for your patience and we apologize for any inconvenience!

Understanding Read Groups

Dear All,

I am new to GATK and very confused regarding "Read Groups". I have fastq files and I will like to add read groups to the files. This is what I have understood and please do let me know where I am correct or wrong.

for sake of simplicity, let's say I have 2 samples S1, S2 and 3 lanes. This will give rise to 3 fastq files, i.e. S1_L1.fastq.gz, S1_L2.fastq.gz, S1_L3.fastq.gz, S2_L1.fastq.gz, S2_L2.fastq.gz and S2_L3.fastq.gz

Now, this is what is mentioned in sam manual "Each @RG line must have a unique ID"
http://samtools.github.io/hts-specs/SAMv1.pdf and something similar is mentioned in GATK https://gatkforums.broadinstitute.org/gatk/discussion/6472/read-groups
"ID = Read group identifier This tag identifies which read group each read belongs to, so each read group's ID must be unique."

Hence, the read groups should be something like this
RGID=S1_L1 PL=illumina SM=S1, RGID=S1_L2 PL=illumina SM=S1, RGID=S1_L3 PL=illumina SM=S1
RGID=S2_L1 PL=illumina SM=S2, RGID=S1_L2 PL=illumina SM=S2, RGID=S1_L3 PL=illumina SM=S2

This should result in something similar to what has been mentioned by GATK for multiplexed data
https://gatkforums.broadinstitute.org/gatk/discussion/6472/read-groups

Dad's data:
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE1 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-DAD-1 SM:DAD PI:200
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE2 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-DAD-1 SM:DAD PI:200
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE3 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-DAD-2 SM:DAD PI:400
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE4 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-DAD-2 SM:DAD PI:400

Mom's data:
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE5 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-MOM-1 SM:MOM PI:200
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE6 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-MOM-1 SM:MOM PI:200
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE7 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-MOM-2 SM:MOM PI:400
@RG ID:FLOWCELL1.LANE8 PL:ILLUMINA LB:LIB-MOM-2 SM:MOM PI:400