Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We encourage our fourm members to be more involved, jump in and help out your fellow researchers with their questions. GATK forum is a community forum and helping each other with using GATK tools and research is the cornerstone of our success as a genomics research community.We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.
Attention:
We will be out of the office on October 14, 2019, due to the U.S. holiday. We will return to monitoring the forum on October 15.

Exome sequencing - additional public data for variant calling

siro12345siro12345 munichMember

Hi,
I'm new to exome sequencing, sorry if the questions have really obvious answers.

My data set contains only 3 different samples from mother, father and daughter.
So far I'm doing the standard thing - IndelRealigner -> HaplotypeCaller -> VariantRecalibrator..

Quesion 1: HaplotypeCaller is recommended. I tried UnifiedGenotyper as well, which outputs about 30% more raw variants. Is that expected?

Question 2: This thread recommends using public data from 1000genomes if the sample size is smaller than 30. Available data sets from 1000GP don't use the Nextera Illumina technology for capture. Is that a problem, should I look for public data that uses the exact same approach as us?

Thanks for your help, I appreciate it ! :-)

Answers

• siro12345siro12345 munichMember
  • SheilaSheila admin Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator admin

@siro12345
    Hi,