variant calling with biological replicates

I am new to use GATK pipeline for SNP calling. I am currently working on four different populations (RNASEq data) with 6 clones. Each clone has 3 biological replicates. How do I combine the variant calling step for the replicates?
I went through the GATK documentation on cohorts and stuff, but I am not sure if I should continue this.
Does combining the resultant vcf file also a possibility?
please help!

Best Answers

Answers

• tommycarstensentommycarstensen United KingdomMember ✭✭✭

I am by no means an expert on this type of problem. But it makes more sense to me to merge your reads rather than merging after variant calling. You better wait for the answer from someone else other than a fellow user.

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator admin

@suda_ravindran
    Hi,

Can you give us some more background information? What organism are you working with? By clones, do you mean separate colonies (assuming you are working with bacteria)?
    Can you explain how the samples were prepared?

Thanks,
    Sheila

• suda_ravindransuda_ravindran HamburgMember

@Sheila:
    Hello Ms.Sheila,
    I work on Daphnia.
    By clones, I meant the genotypes.
    Daphnia from 4 different location were sampled and 6 genotypes from each location were selected using microsatellite markers. For each of the genotype, 3 biological replicates were considered. The cDNA was extracted and sequenced using Illumina. Then, the reads were assembled and mapped.
    Hope this helps!

@suda_ravindran
    Hi,

Thanks. What exactly is your end goal? Do you want to compare the Daphnia from each location?

-Sheila

@Sheila:
    Hello,
    Yes, I want to compare the daphnids from each location, I am trying to understand the local adaptation

• Geraldine_VdAuweraGeraldine_VdAuwera Cambridge, MAMember, Administrator, Broadie admin

We need to understand your experimental design a bit better to answer your question.