Holiday Notice:
The Frontline Support team will be offline February 18 for President's Day but will be back February 19th. Thank you for your patience as we get to all of your questions!

Poor SNP calling results

ajlivajliv LiverpoolMember

Hello, I'm new to the world of bioinformatics so apologies if this is not as detailed as some of the other questions!

I have performed the joint genotype haplotype caller on PCR free illumina sequencing of bacterial cells against a reference I produced by Pac-Bio. I've performed BWA mem, removing duplicates, indel realignment as described in your best practices. I cant do Base Recalibration due to lack of data. The BAM files produced at these stages look normal. I also created log files at each stage and these say that it ran successfully. However when I run Haplotype caller very few SNPS and Indels are identified in the g.vcf (4/5) and the bamout file visually looks empty (although it is ~170K in size).

I'm running GATK version 3.3. The code I'm using is:
Java -jar gatk.jar -R reference.fasta -T HaplotypeCaller -I preprocessed_reads.bam --pcr_indel_model --emitRefConfidence GVCF --variant_index_type LINEAR --variant_index_parameter 128000 -o sample1.g.vcf -bamout bamout.bam

Any help anyone could give me would be amazing as I'm really stuck!

Best Answer

Answers

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator admin

@ajliv
    Hi

Can you post some IGV screenshots of the BAM files where you think variants should be called? Have you checked the base qualities and mapping qualities at those sites? Can you try lowering the --standard_min_confidence_threshold_for_calling as well?

Thanks,
    Sheila

• ajlivajliv LiverpoolMember

Hi Sheila,