We've moved!
This site is now read-only. You can find our new documentation site and support forum for posting questions here.
Be sure to read our welcome blog!

help diagnosing missed variants in amplicon data

rcorbett2rcorbett2 vancouverMember
edited December 2015 in Ask the GATK team

Hi all,
I'm relatively new to GATK. At first I was intimidated by the amount of documentation, but lately I've really come to appreciate how there are answers to nearly all questions somewhere on this website.

After asking around to see which tool people recommend for tumour amplicon variant calling the consensus choice was obviously GATK. In line with that I've been trying to run a variant of the best practices to identify some variants in my amplicon samples. The intended deviation is of course to tell GATK to ignore the duplicate status of the reads as nearly all reads are duplicates.

Here are my commands:

# find the indels to realign
GenomeAnalysisTK.jar -T RealignerTargetCreator -R GRCh37-lite.fa -I $1 -o $1.realignment_targets.list --disable_read_filter DuplicateRead

# fix up the indels
GenomeAnalysisTK.jar -T IndelRealigner -R GRCh37-lite.fa -I $1 -o $1.realigned.bam   --disable_read_filter DuplicateRead -targetIntervals $1.realignment_targets.list

# base recalibration
GenomeAnalysisTK.jar -T BaseRecalibrator -R GRCh37-lite.fa -I $1.realigned.bam -o  $1.recal_data.table --disable_read_filter DuplicateRead  -knownSites dbSNP/common_all.vcf

GenomeAnalysisTK.jar -T PrintReads -R GRCh37-lite.fa -I $1.realigned.bam -BQSR $1.recal_data.table --disable_read_filter DuplicateRead -o $1.recal_reads.bam

# Indels are realigned, bases are re-calibrated, now do the variant calling
GenomeAnalysisTK.jar -T HaplotypeCaller -R GRCh37-lite.fa --disable_read_filter DuplicateRead -I $1.recal_reads.bam --genotyping_mode DISCOVERY -stand_emit_conf 10 -stand_call_conf 30 -o $1.raw_variants.vcf -bamout $1.raw_variants.bamout.bam