Our documentation websites are currently offline due to a data center fire. We do not yet have an ETA for restoring service; we’ll update this message when we know more.

Exception in MarkDuplicates Value was put into PairInfoMap more than once

Hello,

I am relatively new to GATK and stuck on this problem.

After downloading the bam file that I wish to analyze, I am cutting portions of the file because I only wish to analyze variants at specific genes. Once I have the smaller files for each gene, I am using samtools merge to merge all of the smaller files back into one full sliced bam file. Next, I am realigning this file using bwa aln and sampe. After this step, I am attempting to use GATK best practices to mark the variants in these genes.

First, I am using GATK AddOrReplaceReadGroups to modify read group information as necessary. Then, I am using Picard's MarkDuplicates to mark duplicates in the re-aligned bam file. However, I get the following error.

Exception in thread "main" net.sf.picard.PicardException: Value was put into PairInfoMap more than once. 156: TLL:HWI-ST1222:5:2308:12532:76745#0 at net.sf.picard.sam.CoordinateSortedPairInfoMap.ensureSequenceLoaded(CoordinateSortedPairInfoMap.java:124) at net.sf.picard.sam.CoordinateSortedPairInfoMap.remove(CoordinateSortedPairInfoMap.java:78) at net.sf.picard.sam.DiskReadEndsMap.remove(DiskReadEndsMap.java:61) at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.buildSortedReadEndLists(MarkDuplicates.java:418) at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.doWork(MarkDuplicates.java:161) at net.sf.picard.cmdline.CommandLineProgram.instanceMain(CommandLineProgram.java:177) at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.main(MarkDuplicates.java:145)

Looking at Picard's FAQ page (https://broadinstitute.github.io/picard/faq.html), it suggests that I try using Picard's MergeBamAlignment which also fails giving an error suggesting that the error is in the record ID of the bam file.