RADseq data and GATK

mlpimslermlpimsler University of AlabamaMember

Hello!
I am pretty new to bioinformatics- mostly just have taken one class.

I have been handed some RADseq data and we want to do some SNP variant calling. I am trying to make sure that I use GATK correctly- at present we only have about 250 libraries, but we should end up with at least twice that many, possibly three times.

I have aligned the reads to a reference genome, sorted and indexed them, and am now ready for HaplotypeCaller. We do not have SNP location information, so I was going to follow the Troubleshooting guide by using GATK to de novo call SNPs, feed that information to recalibrate based on quality scores, and then re-run Haplotype caller. I did not do the dedup step due to the nature of the data.

I am trying to make sure that I am using the correct options. What I have is:

java -jar GenomeAnalysisTK.jar \
-T HaplotypeCaller \
-R reference.fa \
-I preprocessed_reads.bam \
--genotyping_mode DISCOVERY \
-stand_emit_conf 10 \
-stand_call_conf 30 \
-o raw_variants.vcf

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• mlpimslermlpimsler University of AlabamaMember
    edited September 2015

I have, at present, 250 separate libraries. I will have about 1000 libraries by the end of the project.

I have a script that goes through every file in a for loop and does all of the processing up to creating the .g.vcf files for each RAD-tag library.

I have not been able to successfully batch-call all of the .g.vcf files that have been created in combineGVCF, however, without creating a line for each file individuals. I have tried using the wildcard symbol (*) I have seen in other help threads (eg. http://gatkforums.broadinstitute.org/discussion/5469/how-to-speed-up-combinegvcfs-seems-unfeasibly-slow ) but it didn't work.