Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

GATK Workflow for Cancer

gaiusjaugustusgaiusjaugustus Arizona, USAMember
edited July 2015 in Ask the GATK team

I am new to Bioinformatics, and would like some advice on changes to the GATK workflow for cancer. I was told that the cancer workflow is different, and see that several different tools are available.

I have Exome data from tumor and normal. I have aligned them, and have BAM files for each sample. I am interested in identifying somatic variants.

The current workflow as I understand it is:
-(Non-GATK) Picard Mark Duplicates or Samtools roundup
-Indel Realignment (Realigner TargetCreator + Indel Realigner)
-Base Quality Score Reacalibration (Base Recalibrator + PrintReads)
-UnifiedGenotyper
-Annotation using Oncotator (?)
-MuTect (identify somatic mutations)

My questions are:
1. Is the above workflow reasonable/correct for what I'm trying to do?
2. Is there any difference running samples one pair at a time, or running them all together? (I have 57 pairs. Should I do 57 runs of normal-tumor pairs, or 1 run of all 57 pairs?)

Thank you,
Gaius

Answers

• gaiusjaugustusgaiusjaugustus Arizona, USAMember

I've gotten this answer before (just now found it):