Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

HaplotypeCaller java.lang.NullPointerException Error

andyktandykt Member
edited June 2014 in Ask the GATK team

Hi,
I'm still new to bioinformatics so I'll apologise in advance if I've made an obvious error anywhere here... I am running HaplotypeCaller on four species of rodent (Mus musculus and three wild, non-model species), with 12 individual bam files in each.

It works fine for Mus, but for one of the non-model species it ran for 18 days, then crashed at 90%; only then did I realise I speed things up by passing it a file of only the exonic intervals I'm interested in. However, when I try running it with the interval file I get the following error:

ERROR ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ERROR stack trace

java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.util.ComparableTimSort.countRunAndMakeAscending(ComparableTimSort.java:295)
at java.util.ComparableTimSort.sort(ComparableTimSort.java:171)
at java.util.ComparableTimSort.sort(ComparableTimSort.java:146)
at java.util.Arrays.sort(Arrays.java:472)
at java.util.Collections.sort(Collections.java:155)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.utils.interval.IntervalUtils.sortAndMergeIntervals(IntervalUtils.java:254)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.utils.interval.IntervalUtils.getIntervalsWithFlanks(IntervalUtils.java:805)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.utils.interval.IntervalUtils.loadIntervals(IntervalUtils.java:612)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.utils.interval.IntervalUtils.parseIntervalBindingsPair(IntervalUtils.java:587)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.utils.interval.IntervalUtils.parseIntervalArguments(IntervalUtils.java:549)
at org.broadinstitute.sting.gatk.GenomeAnalysisEngine.initializeIntervals(GenomeAnalysisEngine.java:721)