Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

Is removing duplicates appropriate with pooled data?

jesstillajesstilla Medford, MAMember

Hello, I am a graduate student in lab that studies evolution, and I am relatively new to NGS. I have been given reads from pooled moth samples, and I am hoping to identify variants with the ultimate goal of quantifying the genetic differentiation between two strains of moths. I am wondering 1) if it is appropriate/recommended to remove duplicates with pooled data and 2) more broadly, are there particular situations in which removing duplicates is not suggested? For example, I have another data set in which the fragments were not generated by random shearing but rather by multiplex PCR of 17 particular amplicons for 42 different individual moths (not pooled). I'm guessing that removing duplicates doesn't make sense in this case because there will be lots of reads that start at the exact same position relative to the reference. Is this right?

Thanks a bunch!

Tagged:

Answers

• CarneiroCarneiro Charlestown, MAMember admin

No, we do not recommend removing duplicates in pooled data or in multiplexed PCR.

• jesstillajesstilla Medford, MAMember

Thanks for your answer! I assume this is because I might remove duplicates that are from different individuals (instead of the result of PCR duplication) but if the fragments were generated by random shearing, isn't it fairly unlikely that I will happen to have two fragments from different individuals with the same starting position relative to the reference? I.e. doesn't the same logic apply? Or am I missing something?

• EvaEva Member