Complete this survey about your research needs and be entered to win an Amazon gift card or FireCloud credit.
Read more about it here!
Download the latest Picard release at https://github.com/broadinstitute/picard/releases.
GATK version 4.beta.6 is out. See the GATK4 beta page for download and details.

GATK Analysis Parameters

Hi! I am new to next gen sequencing and started working with Ion Torrent's PGM for the Targeted Gene Sequencing using the AmpliSeq Custom Panel. I need to get the analysis going and asking for help from others. I have been reading a lot and have a better understanding of the workflow but not having bioinformatics background has been difficult to run the GATK in our Linux system. Can anyone help me with analysis parameters? Or anywhere I can find them? I have 175 patients and 31 genes in my panel.

Thanks

Best Answers

Answers

• This document is very helpful: gatkforums.broadinstitute.org/discussion/1247/what-should-i-use-as-known-variantssites-for-running-tool-x.

For variant calling, this is also very helpful: gatkforums.broadinstitute.org/discussion/1259/what-vqsr-training-sets-arguments-should-i-use-for-my-specific-project

Though I'm not sure if you need to tweak some parameter(s) especially for Ion Torrent data.

• Geraldine_VdAuweraGeraldine_VdAuwera Cambridge, MAMember, Administrator, Broadie

Which step are you having trouble finding parameters for?

• I am not doing the analysis but have to help and direct the Bioinformatician who has been using GATK for the microbial data analysis generated by Ion Torrent's PGM. He has no experience in using human NGS data in GATK. We didn't know where to start and decided on a test run using the Ion Torrent data generated for a set of positive controls (where we know what the expected mutations are). To start the analysis, we wanted to have the parameters.

Thanks

• Geraldine_VdAuweraGeraldine_VdAuwera Cambridge, MAMember, Administrator, Broadie