We've moved!
This site is now read-only. You can find our new documentation site and support forum for posting questions here.
Be sure to read our welcome blog!

GenotypeGVCF and memory failure

mgdesaixmgdesaix Fort CollinsMember
Hello,

I am working through GATK4 (4.1.4.0) for germline short variant discovery. I have been following the best practices, but this is my first time using the pipeline. So far, I have run HaplotypeCaller to produce gvcf files and I broke up the haplotypeCaller jobs by scaffold (-L).

I then combined the broken up individual gvcf files back into one file with GatherVcfs (in hindsight, maybe this was unnecessary?)

I then ran GenomicsDBImport as follows:

gatk --java-options "-Xmx12g" \
GenomicsDBImport \
--genomicsdb-workspace-path "$out"/database_"$interval" \
--batch-size 50 \
-L "$list" \
--sample-name-map cohort.sample_map \
--tmp-dir ./AMRE/tmp/ \
--reader-threads 4

And it ran successfully, producing 25 multi-sample databases, with most jobs taking ~12-16 hrs, one taking 33 hours.

Now I am attempting to run GenotypeGVCF for each of the databases but I get an error about the tmp directory:

```
A USER ERROR has occurred: Failure working with the tmp directory /scratch/summit/[email protected]/AMRE/tmp. Try changing the tmp dir with with --tmp-dir on the command line. Exact error was should exist and have read/write access
```

I am running GenotypeGVCFs as described below, the --tmp-dir specification was the same as for GenomicsDBImport and I have deleted everything in the tmp directory since running GenomicsDBImport

```
gatk --java-options "-Xmx4g" GenotypeGVCFs \
-R "$reference" \
-V gendb://"$database" \
-O "$out"/AMRE."$database".vcf.gz \
--tmp-dir ./AMRE/tmp/
```

When I run it without the --tmp-dir I get a memory error message:
```
12:32:57.180 INFO GenotypeGVCFs - Shutting down engine
[December 13, 2019 12:32:57 PM MST] org.broadinstitute.hellbender.tools.walkers.GenotypeGVCFs done. Elapsed time: 0.41 minutes.