Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We encourage our fourm members to be more involved, jump in and help out your fellow researchers with their questions. GATK forum is a community forum and helping each other with using GATK tools and research is the cornerstone of our success as a genomics research community.We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

How do I reach my data when running GATK in docker?

zsuzsannaHzsuzsannaH HungaryMember
Hi! I would like to try out GATK but I am new to Linux OS, generally I use Windows OS. I installed Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS through Oracle VirtualBox 6.0 on a laptop running Windows 10. I followed the instructions on the https://software.broadinstitute.org/gatk/documentation/article?id=11090 website to install Docker and downloading the GATK container image. When I try to run the FastqToSam tool it looks like this:

'''
[email protected]lBox:~$ sudo docker run -v ~/home/lmi/NGS:/gatk/my_data -it broadinstitute/gatk:4.1.3.0
[sudo] password for lmi:
(gatk) [email protected]:/gatk# gatk FastqToSam -F1 F1.fastq -F2 F2.fastq -O uBAM.bam -SM sample001 -RG rg0013
Using GATK jar /gatk/gatk-package-4.1.3.0-local.jar
Running:
java -Dsamjdk.use_async_io_read_samtools=false -Dsamjdk.use_async_io_write_samtools=true -Dsamjdk.use_async_io_write_tribble=false -Dsamjdk.compression_level=2 -jar /gatk/gatk-package-4.1.3.0-local.jar FastqToSam -F1 F1.fastq -F2 F2.fastq -O uBAM.bam -SM sample001 -RG rg0013
09:40:34.696 INFO NativeLibraryLoader - Loading libgkl_compression.so from jar:file:/gatk/gatk-package-4.1.3.0-local.jar!/com/intel/gkl/native/libgkl_compression.so