Heads up:
We’re moving the GATK website, docs and forum to a new platform. Read the full story and breakdown of key changes on this blog.
Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We encourage our fourm members to be more involved, jump in and help out your fellow researchers with their questions. GATK forum is a community forum and helping each other with using GATK tools and research is the cornerstone of our success as a genomics research community.We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

Disadvantages of directly using google genomics pipeline API

taliravehtaliraveh IsraelMember
Hi,

I’m very new to using workflow management tools and I’m trying to conceptually understand the added value of using Cromwell/WDL as opposed to using the google genomics pipeline API directly, *assuming* one is only interested in using gcp for the actual computation.

From what I understand, even if the ability to run on various backends is not of interest, Cromwell still facilitates tracking multiple, parallel jobs (like dsub), with the scatter functionality, but I wonder if there are additional advantages to using Cromwell and not the pipeline api directly. Are there things that are way more difficult to achieve when working directly with the pipeline api directly?

Apologies in advance for the ignorant question, just trying to understand the conceptual differences and added functionalities.

Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• jgentryjgentry Member, Broadie, Dev ✭✭✭

Hi -

It's not an ignorant question at all.