Notice:
If you happen to see a question you know the answer to, please do chime in and help your fellow community members. We appreciate your help!

Test-drive the GATK tools and Best Practices pipelines on Terra

Check out this blog post to learn how you can get started with GATK and try out the pipelines in preconfigured workspaces (with a user-friendly interface!) without having to install anything.

GATK4 Mutect2 variants IDs not shown

Hi everyone!

I am a beginner using GATK, so bear with me please. Also, I am sorry this is duplicated in Biostars, I believe here is more appropriate.

I am trying to do my variant calling with GATK4 new Mutect2 (not MuTect2), using as --germline-resource the af-only-gnomad.hg38.vcf.gz from the GATK's bundle. The command is pretty much the same as seen in the tutorial: https://software.broadinstitute.org/gatk/documentation/article?id=11136, only updated to allow it to be used with WES.

My problem is that after successfully completing the variant calling, none of the variants have ID information, although when I compared it to a MuTect2 result several did, using --dbsnp which is not available in Mutect2.
Basically, all of the IDs are a "."

I checked the uncompressed gnomad.hg38.vcf.gz manually and the ID info as rsXXXXXX are there.

Any ideas on why the variant calling is not collecting the ID info from the germline resource to populate the ID field? Thank you!

Daiana

Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• AdelaideRAdelaideR Unconfirmed, Member, Broadie, Moderator admin

Hi @daianagan

I was curious if you tried to ValidateVariants on the gnomad vcf file? I have a feeling there might be an issue with that file, even though it looks okay at first glance.

Also, if you could post the command, that would be helpful.

• daianagandaianagan Member
    edited March 11

Hi @AdelaideR , I am sorry for the belated response.