Holiday Notice:
The Frontline Support team will be offline February 18 for President's Day but will be back February 19th. Thank you for your patience as we get to all of your questions!

supporting dataset for CalculateGenotypePosteriors

Dear team,

I am relatively new to the GATK environment, so please forgive me if I missed something obvious. I realize that similar question came up before, but I did not find an answer that solved my problem.

I am trying to run CalculateGenotypePosteriors with a supporting dataset. In the tool documentation you use 1000G.phase3.integrated.sites_only.no_MATCHED_REV.hg38.vcf.gz, which I downloaded from the GATK bundle

console.cloud.google.com/storage/browser/genomics-public-data/resources/broad/hg38/

When I run
gatk CalculateGenotypePosteriors -R Homo_sapiens_assembly38.fasta -V in.vcf.gz -O out.vcf.gz -supporting 1000G.phase3.integrated.sites_only.no_MATCHED_REV.hg38.vcf.gz

the result is a user error

A USER ERROR has occurred: Input files reference and features have incompatible contigs: Found contigs with the same name but different lengths:
contig reference = chr15 / 101991189
contig features = chr15 / 90338345.

All my alignment, variant calling and genotyping has been done with the same Homo_sapiens_assembly38.fasta file (obtained from the GATK bundle). I am using GATK 4.0.6.0.

Running
gatk ValidateVariants -R Homo_sapiens_assembly38.fasta -V in.vcf.gz --dbsnp GATK-bundle/dbsnp_138.hg38.vcf.gz

completed without an error. So my question is: Is there a problem with this supporting input file (1000G.phase3.integrated.sites_only.no_MATCHED_REV.hg38.vcf.gz)? Is there another file I could use? Are there other tests I could use to check for the integrity of my input vcf files?

Best wishes,

Georg

Answers

• shleeshlee CambridgeMember, Broadie, Moderator admin

Hi @gwotto,