Holiday Notice:
The Frontline Support team will be slow to respond December 17-18 due to an institute-wide retreat and offline December 22- January 1, while the institute is closed. Thank you for your patience during these next few weeks. Happy Holidays!

Hard filtering

SystemSystem Administrator admin
This discussion was created from comments split from: New to the forum? Ask your questions here!.

Comments

• Rita_SRita_S Member

Hi there GATK team!

I'm new in this field. I have a question about the strategy that I should adopt. I have 65 human WES, but it's not a simple case of cases vs control because I have different types of cases (different phenotypes) that I want to analyze in separate groups. I don’t have 30 samples of each phenotype, so I don’t know if I should do Hard Filtering or VQSR.
    What would be the right way to go?

Thanks so much in advance!
    Rita

• bhanuGandhambhanuGandham Member, Administrator, Broadie, Moderator admin

Hi @Rita_S

We recommend that you have at least 30 exomes for VQSR. If you have fewer than that then we recommend hard filtering ad you can find more info on that here: https://software.broadinstitute.org/gatk/documentation/article.php?id=2806.

If for some phenotype it is on the borderline of that threshold then it will be a more of a judgment call. Please try it and let me know if you face any issues.

Regards
    Bhanu

• Rita_SRita_S Member

Because the Joint Genotyping should be separate for each phenotype right?

Hi @Rita_S

You can do joint genotyping on your entire set of samples. Here is a doc that gives you more info on why you should do join genotyping.

Regards
    Bhanu

• Rita_SRita_S Member

Hi @bhanuGandham

Sorry, I don't think I'm explaining my doubt correctly.