We've moved!
This site is now read-only. You can find our new documentation site and support forum for posting questions here.
Be sure to read our welcome blog!

homo-ref/snp representation in vcf, Unified Genotyper, snp filtering, homo-ref GQ?

amsci8amsci8 USAMember
edited August 2012 in Ask the GATK team

Hello!

This is my first post/question on this forum. I should say I am relatively new to bioinformatics (self-teaching for the last four months), so my understanding is somewhat on a beginner's level. I tried to see if anyone posted the same/similar question, but I apologize if this is a duplicate.

First, this is what I am trying to accomplish:

• I am analyzing several lines of whole-genome sequence data from two closely-related plant species to a single reference genome. My goal is to create a vcf file with reference and non-reference calls for all these lines. I have successfully done this, but have questions about the output/results and options for cleaning up/filtering the data. Note that I am equally interested in variant/snp sites and reference/non-variant sites because I want to use these data for genome-level population genetic analyses.

Here is my work flow:

• I am aligning whole genome sequence data from 19 lines to a single reference line. These 19 lines represent two closely related species, one of which is quite variable among populations. The data is all from paired-end illumina sequencing, mostly 2x75 and 2x100 bp reads, and a few lines with 2x35 bp reads. Average coverage ranges from 5x to 30x. I am using bwa with a q30 cutoff for mapping quality, i.e. I throw out reads that map lower than q30.