Haplotyper creating vcf files but stopping before reading SNPs

Please forgive me if this is a naive question because I am new to gatk.

I am using HapltoypeCaller to call SNPs using a pseudo reference I have created from my sequence data (no reference available and the data is bait capture not whole genome). When I invoke HaplotypeCaller I get the following error after what appears to be normal work:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IncompatibleClassChangeError: Inconsistent constant pool data in classfile for class org/broadinstitute/hellbender/transformers/ReadTransformer. Method lambda$identity$d67512bf$1(Lorg/broadinstitute/hellbender/utils/read/GATKRead;)Lorg/broadinstitute/hellbender/utils/read/GATKRead; at index 65 is CONSTANT_MethodRef and should be CONSTANT_InterfaceMethodRef

The vcf files I am asking to be made are in fact made but they are devoid of SNP data.

Thanks for the help and advice.

Answers

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator

@gspellman
    Hi,

Can you tell us what version of GATK you are using and the exact command you ran?

Thanks,
    Sheila

• edited March 22

I'm having the same problem when using HaplotypeCaller to call SNPs of bacterial genome sequencing reads. The gatk version on my ubuntu 16.04 workstation is gatk-4.0.2.1. The exact command I run is as follows:

for i in $(ls -d ERR*); do echo $i; cd $i; \
    gatk --java-options "-Xmx8G" HaplotypeCaller \
    -R ../../index/AM180355.1.fasta \
    -I $i.sorted.dedup.bam \
    -O $i.vcf.gz \
    -ploidy 1 \
    -bamout $i.vcf.bam; \
    cd ..;done

The exception message is copied as follows: