Holiday Notice:
The Frontline Support team will be slow to respond December 17-18 due to an institute-wide retreat and offline December 22- January 1, while the institute is closed. Thank you for your patience during these next few weeks. Happy Holidays!

preprocessing raw sequence data in a UBAM file from IonTorrent 16S Metagenomics kit

Hi everyone!

I have raw, paired-end sequence data in a UBAM (unmapped) file after sequencing 16S gene from water samples. The UBAM file contains both forward and reverse reads but unjoined. How can I do the following:

1) Map UBAM to a reference genome so that I will have an aligned, paired-end mapped BAM file? I heard you can use picard but which function to use, I am very unsure.

2) Prepare that BAM file for analysis in QIIME 2.0 by converting it to fastq? I believe I can use samtools to convert BAM to FASTQ but I want to get your advice.

These may be silly questions but I am new to bioinformatics so any help will be appreciated!

Answers

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator admin

@osaama_s
    Hi,

1) I think this tutorial will help.

2) You can use BamToBfq.

-Sheila

• osaama_sosaama_s Member

@Sheila thank you for your response! The tutorial you suggested in going in opposite direction. It is guiding on how to get a uBAM from BAM or FASTQ (I do not want that).

My problem is different: the end goal of the project is to get a fastq file ready for analysis in QIIME 2.0.

Therefore, I am trying to figure out a way to process the raw uBAM file (which contains unaligned paired end data). What I need to know is how to align the paired-end reads in the raw uBAM file to a reference genome, getting an aligned BAM file in the end?

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator admin
    edited March 5

@osaama_s
    Hi,