unmapped BAM from Ion 16s Metagenomics Kit using MergeBamAlignment

osaama_sosaama_s Member
edited February 21 in Ask the GATK team

I have sequenced 16s rRNA from waste water samples using Ion 16s Metagenomics kit. After paired-end sequencing using the machine Ion S5, I have received unmapped BAM files for all samples. Each uBAM contains both forward and reverse reads unaligned. I want to map those unmapped BAM files (uBam --> Bam) using the reference genome (16s gene) before I can convert them to fastq for analysis in QIIME 2.0. However, I am stuck at how to map the ubams? I am new to bioinformatics so any help will be appreciated! Do I have to sort uBAMs in some order before mapping them? I have installed picards but I am not sure which plugin should I sure to get fastq files which I want in the end for QIIME analysis.

Best Answer

Answers

• SkyWarriorSkyWarrior TurkeyMember
    edited February 21

You need to use PICARD SamToFastq to convert your Ubam to fastq. Check picard tools page for more details. Normally if you want to start mapping directly from ubam you need to pipe SamToFastq to your mapper of choice.

• @SkyWarrior thank you but the main problem here is not to convert Ubam to fastq. I have raw paired-end sequence data from Ion Torrent in UBAM file. How do i map it to a reference genome to get a mapped BAM file which can then be later to converted to fastq?

I really don't know what to say... :|

• SheilaSheila Broad InstituteMember, Broadie, Moderator

@osaama_s
    Hi,

I hope I have answered in this thread.

-Sheila

• osaama_sosaama_s Member

@Sheila

No, please see my response to the thread where you suggested the tutorial.

• osaama_sosaama_s Member